top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLourence Alturino

UFC 260 Aftermath - Miocic vs Ngannou: Recap and more

Updated: Apr 24, 2021

By Lourence Alturino


WOW. It's been a couple of days and I still can't believe what happened at UFC 260. Francis Ngannou is the new UFC Heavyweight Champion via 2nd round knockout. It wasn't a TKO, it was a KNOCKOUT. The Heavyweight GOAT was slept and let's see why and how it happened.


Full Recap


In the first round, you already see the adjustments Francis has made. This was easily round 1 win for Ngannou. He landed some big shots and definitely landed more strikes. Stipe attempted a takedown, but Francis successfully defended it and even gotten a takedown himself. 10-9 Francis.


In round 2, Francis went for it. He knocked him down early with a stiff and powerful jab. Stipe was in trouble. Micoic landed a good right hand, but ran in unprotected and ultimately got finished with a powerful left hand.


How did this happen?


Every key I had Francis Ngannou heading into this fight, he hit on the money. Early in the first, he landed a good leg kick. Francis attacked the legs just like I wanted him to. I wanted Stipe to go for the takedown and for Francis to be aware of it. Francis defended it and got a takedown himself. The number one factor in this fight was Ngannou's patience. He wasn't too aggressive and he didn't try to headhunt like I said he shouldn't. That simple adjustment won him the fight.


Final Takeaway


In my final prediction, I did not entirely rule out a Ngannou KO victory, but I also didn't expect it to happen and even the way it did happen. Now I hope we get Francis Ngannou vs Jon Jones for the heavyweight belt sometime later this year. I also hope Stipe Miocic comes back and gets a rematch for the title whether that's against Ngannou or Jones. Stipe Micoic is still the GOAT of the heavyweights and Francis Ngannou is the new UFC Heavyweight King.

6 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page